The Kindess of Strangers

A while back I had to take my car for the normal mileage service, but due to unforeseen issues I had to leave it at the service center and had to use public transport (not that I am complaining I actually love walking around for a change.)

When my car was finally ready for collection I decided to do the “unthinkable” and take the bus, to further explain the previous statement, some people tend to look down on public transport and think it’s ludicrous to even bring up such a topic!

Well luckily I am “crazier” than most, after shocking my mom with my announcement that I am going to walk to the bus station and her pleas to get me to reconsider and that she will call my cousins, my friends, anyone just to drop me off! I said no thank you, I am trying the bus for a change and made my way out of the house.

Google maps told me that the closest two bus stops were a 5 minute walk away, I walked to one of them and waited till the bus came and just got on not realizing it was the wrong bus, my bad, but it just took me back around my house and dropped me to the second bus stop (hey at least I got to see two bus stops close to my house, silver linings!)

I waited for around 15 minutes till the bus came around, and funny enough it was the same bus…the driver noticed my puzzled look and he spent the next 20 minutes explaining how a circle route works. It’s a shame that I can navigate public transport abroad better than I do in my own country!

I exited at the metro station for the second leg of my trip and a Filipino lady who was on the same bus was going to the metro station as well, she approached me and she asked me where I was going and I told her to the service center at so-and-so location and she said that she’s going towards that direction and she can help me, I thanked her and told her I am good here as I know my way around the metro, it’s just that I am not used to taking the bus. She just smiled and nodded and walked and stood waiting for the metro to arrive.

Now to those who are not familiar with the Dubai Metro there are different carriages, there’s silver, women’s and children (which is part of the silver section) and the gold carriage which is at the front of the metro, the silver is more economical and bigger while the gold carriage is smaller and you pay 2x the price of the silver.

I have the gold NOL card (that’s the name of the public transport card).

She stood in front of the women’s and children carriage, which belongs to silver. I thought to myself, I always ride gold but I don’t always meet such nice people, so I walked over to her and told her I will sit with her and she had a delighted look on her face.

We chatted for the whole train ride, I found out that she just recently moved to Dubai and that she works as a nurse and she just came from her patients house, and elderly lady, she sometimes cares for toddlers.

It was a nice change to share a conversation with a fellow human being that was completely random and unplanned for. She offered to help me without even knowing me, the least I could do is sit and talk with her.

β€œWhen we feel love and kindness toward others, it not only makes others feel loved and cared for, but it helps us also to develop inner happiness and peace.”
β€”The 14th Dalai Lama (1935)

The Kindess of Strangers

4 thoughts on “The Kindess of Strangers

Leave a Reply

